Absolute newbie - Canon Rebel T6 questions and why can't I get a clear image?

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone - I'm a complete amateur who has always enjoyed taking photos. I've recently purchased a Canon Rebel T6 with the kit lens and the 75-300mm extra lens. I have two young daughters whom I love to shoot but I'm getting frustrated.

I've spent the last two weeks researching the absolute crap out of using this type of camera. I consider myself a quick learner but as soon as I think I've got a handle on things, I seem to get overwhelmed and lose focus. Literally and figuratively.

I've been teaching myself about aperture, shutter speed and ISO but most of my images are coming out either super blurry or just slightly blurry. None are truly crisp and clear. I researched that some more and found that it's likely user error and not equipment. Great. I just ordered myself a tripod hoping that will help matters. Will it? Am I just not still enough? Also, shooting kids is hard enough in itself. They move a lot.

So, some questions.

1. Why does my camera sometimes manually try to focus, only to not take the photo? I'll be in good light, indoors, shooting at the window or something and pushing down the button. The camera will whirl in and out repeatedly and yet not take the photo. It's so aggravating. This seems to happen on Manual, AV or even Tv mode. I can't seem to figure out what causes it so I fiddle around with the settings til I get something to work.

2. Just when I think I finally understand aperture, it throws me for another loop. I'll be messing around with the higher numbers, lower numbers, etc, but then sometimes it will take the camera 1-2 or more seconds to actually take the photo. Why? I thought that kind of thing has to do with shutter speed, not aperture mode. Again, aggravating. My baby is now across the room in the time it takes the photo to actually "click". Insert annoyed face here.