Accidentally took 58MM 2.0X lens apart...now what?

endrakay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I accidentally took my lens apart...long story...I am not sure if I have put it back together correctly or not.:( Does anybody know how the lenses are supposed to be configured inside? There are two possible ways that it will all fit back.

How exactly does one take a lens apart "accidentally"?

My thoughts exactly.

Well...there were children and a small dog involved...and I screwed off the wrong end. I just wasn't paying attention to what I was doing. I believe it is a telephoto adapter/filter. I have no idea what a Helios is...don't judge me!! I'm new to all this, and trying to get to know my equipment.

Some people talk while asleep. Others walk in their sleep. And a few manage to disassemble lenses while asleep. The trick to preventing this is to hide all the JIS screwdrivers.

I think it sounds like the screw on tele adapter, so no JIS screws just filter type threads between parts.
If theres only two ways round it could fit try one if thats no good try the other.
If it's similar to the 2x screw on adapter I got several years back, the best thing is to see if the seperate parts make a workable close up filter. The quality of mine was awful, I found even with only 6MP available it was invariably better to crop the image.

I've done it. Alcohol was involved. Here's the process: "Oh there's dust in here. Maybe I can *burp* get rid of it." So far I've only fixed one lens (Ektar on my Hasselblad), but attempted quite a few. :lol:

You can accidentally put it back together correctly.

or just try the multiple ways it goes back together and test the outcomes.
or take it to a camera shop