Action photo C n C please!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Pokeguyjai, Jul 20, 2008.

1. Pokeguyjai

Pokeguyjai TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    As you can see I'm a big fan of shooting using low value aperatures (~f4) when shooting action shots. I like how they bring all the attention to the subject, and phase out all the busy-ness which the BG can bring into the picture. I'm a noob, so any and all help is very appreciated!

It was a very bright sunny day, and I waited til ~3:30PM til I whipped out the camera.

I used continuous shooting, aperature value was f4.0, and shutter speeds were ~1250.

[​IMG]

I really like this picture on the bottom. I don't know why. I'm guessing this is how the world looks right after you pull the trigger, and everything is blurry, but you're following through on the shot. I like it, but I think it could have been better...

I think a higher aperature value (5.6 or a little higher) would've helped. I liked how how my friends head is very focused, and the BG is very blurred. But the BG is a little TOO blurred IMO.

[​IMG]

THANKS AGAIN!

2. benpsut

benpsut TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I would have rather seen a more open aperture. And that "blurryness" is called Bokeh. You definately have bokeh but way too much iMo. I can just make out what he's shooting at. The angles a bit off too. Especially the 2nd one! I would have been down at his level with him on the left of the crop with the targets in focus more than they are on the right hand side or something like that. Also, shooting at 330 will provide some harsh shadows. Not saying you should stop shooting, my schedule for taking photographs is 24/7 . But you will get some harsh light, especially this time of the year. Using a wider aperture will slow your shutter speed down, almost to the ponit where you're gonna need a tripod, you might do fine without it if you're out shooting near mid day with TONS of sun. Good luck!