Adobe are SCUM

Discussion in 'Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery' started by kap55, Oct 24, 2017.

1. kap55

kap55 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've been using Lightroom via monthly subscription for a few years but have finally decided that it is time to move on. When I went to the Adobe site to cancel I was faced with a fairly significant cancellation fee. Turns out that the anniversary of my signing on with Adobe was Sep 31 and that they want 50% of the subscription fee until next Sep 31. The will automatically bill by credit card as soon as I cancel - I have no choice or say in the matter. The only time you can cancel penalty free is on the anniversary of your original signing.

I can understand being hit with a penalty if you cancel within the first year, but after that you should be able to quit any time without penalty. I know there must be fine print that makes what Adobe is doing legal - but they are still scum.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Designer

Designer Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    And they're not the only ones.

3. Tomasko

Tomasko No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    It's actually a yearly subscription, only paid monthly. I agree they should be MUCH more open about it.

• Agree Agree x 3
  4. smoke665

smoke665 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Guess you could always call your credit card company tell them you think your card has been compromised and ask them to issue a new one. Then let Adobe bill a closed card. :allteeth:

• Winner Winner x 3
  5. kap55

kap55 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    I did not close the account just because I wanted to consider my options - one of which is doing exactly that.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit