Adobe Bridge vs. Lightroom vs. Aperture

bbbflash

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
pohlerphotography.wix.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys. I took my new 70D to our dog trial on Sunday. It was the first outing and a test run. Ended up taking over 1300 photos. This brings me to a question as the best way to manage the photos. I am new to photography so there will probably be some culling required, but I am now wondering what the best way to go through all the photos. I have Photoshop and Adobe Bridge, but I have not used much in years. Does anyone use Bridge or recommend it. What are the difference between the program's? And advice and suggestions would be great. I will post some photos soon as I want some CC. Thanks!

I never cared for Bridge. When I was on Windows I used Lightroom and didn't have any complaints. Now that I'm on a Mac I use Aperture but it's going away.

I'll add more when I'm not on the phone. :)

I had a quick look during lunch. My cs5 version doesn't have the extension to view raw files. I didn't look into it much, but it appears that I need to update to creative cloud for Lightroom, get aperture, or play around with them in iPhoto. Glad I didn't take a paid gig and find this out. I am curious to know what you guys would suggest for editing software. I do have cs5 and I am not too interested in upgrading to a subscription based service as I do not make enough in graphic design and now photography to justify a monthly expense.

I think you might be able to get lightroom as a stand alone but if not the $10 a month photoshop+lightroom deal rocks. That is the CC version and they will receive updates as long as you decide to keep the software (and subscription).

It's been mentioned before, but Lightroom is the way to go if you want to organize large libraries of photos. Judging on what you've said, I get the feeling you want something long-term to organize your library.