Adobe Bridge

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by BoblyBill, Apr 2, 2008.

1. BoblyBill

BoblyBill TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have been using Adobe Bridge for developing my pictures for at least 4 months now, and now that I have a camera that can shoot RAW+JPEG have I noticed that it auto-corrects my RAW files (completely disregarding my sharpness, contrast, saturation, and color tone I have set up in the camera). Obviously, I have set those in camera settings for a reason. Is there a setting somewhere that will let me NOT auto-correct my shots? Bridge has streamlined my life, and I don't want to have to use the Canon software to convert my RAW files.

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    One major benefit of using RAW files, is that those 'in camera' settings are not applied and locked into the image.

When you shoot JPEG, those settings are applied to the image, then the image is compressed and saved.
    When you shoot RAW, those settings may be recorded but they are not locked into the image, so you have the option of changing them (in RAW editing software). Then when you 'convert' the RAW files...those settings are applied to the image at that time.

This gives you more control over the image.

I don't know anything about Bridge....but with most RAW software, you can apply the settings to many images at once, so it's really not as slow at it might seem.

I suggest having a look at Adobe Lightroom. It is a workflow software that makes it easy to deal with a lot of RAW files.

3. EOS_JD

EOS_JD TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Not sure but the DPP program (Canon users) that came with the camera may retain some of these settings? But as mike says the whole point of shooting RAW is that you do the processing on the PC not the camera.

Shoot RAW + JPG and your jpg images will retain the info you set in the camera.