Advice (Car pics)

Zach

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, I'm Zach and I'm new to the whole photography thing. I took some pics of my '70 Chevelle with a Nikon E4600 digital camera. The 1st pic of my car is in the January '07 issue of the magazine Chevy High Performance. Let me know what you think, good or bad. Any general advice is appreciated, I don't have any specific questions yet. Thanks.
DSCN0612.jpg

chevelleX.jpg

DSCN0844.jpg

The first picture is excellent, the car is positioned well, the warm light and the colours in the background make for a top shot. Though it does look like some quick cloning was done in the bottom left corner.

The focus is off in the second shot and the angle just isn't working for it. In shot 1 the road is a lead in line to the image, in shot 2 the road really detracts from the car.

The composition in the third shot doesn't work for me. It's probably the angle of the whole thing, it might have worked better with a shallower DOF, not sure.

Nice car.

Thanks for the advice and complements. I'm new at this, what exactly does "quick cloning" and "shallower DOF" mean?

Cloning is taking one part of an image and using it to replace another part that you don't want. I might be wrong, but it appears that somebody has done this with the first image just to the left of the rear tyre in view.

DOF is an abbreviation for "depth of field". This is a measure of how much of the image is in focus. You make it shallower to emphasise part of the image. This is generally about having a wider aperture. Google "Depth of Field" or search for it here and you should get a good description.

Ok thanks, I see where you're talking about the "clone." That's actually an electrical box, for a subdivision that's going to be built there.