Advice for a newbie?

RT2020

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I have no experience with SLR photography (aside from having tried one once). I'm hoping you guys can give me some good advice.

Here is my situation:

1) I plan on primarily using the camera for daytime photos of architecture, streetscapes & cities, but also some landscape shots.

2) I am VERY intimidated by the prices right now, but I also don't want to cheap-out and buy something that I could too quickly grow out of.

3) In terms of a starter lens, it obviously has to be affordable as well. A decent (but not amazing) range of zoom is fine as long as the quality is as good as possible. I am not sure if i need an auto-focus or manual lens, so any advice on that would be appreciated as well.

So....any suggestions for good camera and lens(es) for my situation?

Right now I am considering the Canon EOS 30D body. Seems like a very high quality product. Being an older model, I can pick one up for $100's cheaper than the 40D.

I appreciate the help!

Cheers,

Nandor