Advice for my first lighting kit

Coffeepillow

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am looking for a lighting kit that fits my needs, but I am so lost when it comes to looking for one, so I figured I would ask for some help. I just graduated from college last May and I was allowed to use their lights, which were very expensive but worked exactly to my needs, but now I need my own lights and I don't have much money to spend.

I do HDR images with figures, so I need something bright enough that my longest exposures are short enough to prevent ghosting from movement. I have never used a flash before to make hdr images (i'm not even sure how plausible it is), so I would like to have continuous lights. I also need to be able to diffuse them, so an umbrella or soft box attachment is necessary. Also, i would like to be able to use color filters as well for the lights.

I only need 2 or 3 lights and I am looking for something under $500

I know this sounds like a lot, but any advice that you can give is welcome. Thank you!

Awesome. Did you end up finding anything. I just made my first post trying to locate a lighting kit. Have you had any success or do you have any advice for me? I also am looking for a 2 or 3 light setup, with monolights and a soft box.

Necrolighting haha. I think they did its been 7 years.

Mr. Cross_ I saw your post today... I posted this to it:

Three lights is pretty useful, for many,many set-ups. Having three lights is helpful in getting even background lighting, such as elevating medium-gray paper up to PURE white: that is easy with three lights, or four, or five lights.
You do NOT need a ton of flash power. Buy FLASH for the best value, and easiest motion-stopping.