Advice needed - photos of babies/kids

Emerana

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I love the look of close up photos of young children in natural light with alot of clairty around the eyes and blur in the back...you know what I mean, right? I have been practicing alot...not as much as I like, both my children have totally stopped cooperating! But I was hoping someone here could look at a few I took today offer some advice.

I am new to photography, only started 2 weeks ago. I have been reading the manual and online thus far and taking a ton of photos. I have a Canon Rebel XTI. Ih have 3 lenses but almost always use my 55mm prime 1.8. I also have a speedlite which I am using in most of these photos either as fill flash (outside) and or bouncing it off the ceiling. This first one I didnt use it because there was alot of natural light and a very high ceiling, but the rest have it. I do not have a tripod yet but want to get one. I tend to shoot in the P mode.

So any feedback to help me get better shots?
6-3.jpg

3-3.jpg

5-4.jpg

2-4.jpg

1-4.jpg

4-2.jpg

Emerana, I'd say for having started just 2 weeks ago that you're off to an outstanding start! :) These all look great to me. #4 is my favorite which really seems to pop. I take it these are straight off of the camera? Looks like some of them could use a little bit of sharpening and general post processing. There's various programs out there that can do this automatically for you and are specifically calibrated to your camera body and lens combinations.

Thanks :) They are all unedited. I have been using Picasa and Paint shop pro but I didnt touch these yet. I wasnt sure what to do honestly. I will play though. I am going to buy Elements very soon and am anxious to learn how to use it.

I like 4 alot too. I think she had stopped moving for a whole second. I just wish my lens cap wasnt in the photo.