Advice needed...

alfaholic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone...

It is now 4 years since I bought my first DSLR, I started with D3100 and 18-105 VR, then bought a prime 35mm f1.8 G, then I sold D3100 and bought D7000 and Sigma 17-50 f2.8, and finally I upgraded to D7100 and bought Tokina 11-16 f2.8 as well, together with filters, flashes and diffusers.
I meant to say that after 4 years I have some experience which is why I am in a dilema now.

While I like many different styles and techniques, in reality my gear stays in my drawer most of the time and it is used mostly on family trips and vacations, which is nice but somehow I feel my gear is not exploited to full potential if I can say it that way.
The reason for this is mostly because my wife and I have one 3 year old boy, and we are expecting a baby in the next two months, so my hands were, are and will be occupied with baby stuff with no room or time for my photo gear.
Another thing is changing lenses, I simply do not have time to change between lenses, so my idea was to replace everything I have with some mirrorless camera and one, maybe two lenses, which will have smaller footprint, and will be maybe easier to handle.

So my question is about mirrorless cameras and lenses, I like Sony a6000 but I did not found any lens that suits my needs, like this Sigma I already have, or 35mm f1.8 on a crop sensor body.

What are your thoughts about this? Maybe this is some silly idea, feel free to comment.

(I hope you understand my broken English...)

Being an APS-C format it will not be as compact as a m4/3 camera. With m4/3 (Olympus/Panasonic/Kodak & others) there is a huge selection of lenses including Pro models. Worth checking out.

Well I know nothing about mirrorless other then how they work from a technical angle. But since you will be taking photos of your kids mainly the 35mm is perfect no!