Advice on Camera

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by dostagamom, May 23, 2007.

1. dostagamom

dostagamom TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am a new photographer wanting to improve my picture taking skills. I currently have a Kodak camera that really has no bells and whistles. I want to purchase a new camera that has more options. I want a good camera, but I do not want to grow out of the camera in a few years. I am starting to take pictures for my friends and their children and would love to make a business out of this one day. What type of camera do I need to get started? I would appreciate any help.:)

2. TheOtherBob

TheOtherBob TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum. If you're looking to turn your picture-taking into a business, then you'd most likely need a pretty expensive camera, lenses, flashes, lighting, etc. I'm sure there are people here who can advise on that. My view is that you should start with a camera that you'll enjoy and can learn on, and worry about business much later, but that's just my view.

But it might help if you tell us a bit more about the price range you're looking at, and the things you want to shoot (i.e. just friends and kids, or maybe nature, landscapes, etc.) What camera do you have now - and what do you want to be able to do with it that you can't?

3. pandinus

pandinus TPF Noob!

Stavanger, Norway (moving to Bergen in November)
    Photos OK to edit
    I aggree with "TheOtherBob" on this one. If you know what pricerange you looking at, it might be easier to narow the field down.

I'd suggest a DSLR camera, and save up for lenses flashes etc. as you go. That's how I do it. I bought a camera, and a lense then saved up for the next one and so on. My collection of equipment grows with time, and if you buy equipment you like and are happy with it is not likely that you'll want to change them, even if you buy a new camera...