Advice on first 35mm SLR

Youngun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm an amateur looking to get a 35mm SLR for a second camera. I'm trying to upgrade from a Digital Fujifilm S5000. It's a great camera, however getting to the point where I would like the capabilities of a SLR, without the 1000-3000 digital pricetag. Any advice on cameras, and if it's a good decision.

All of the entry level SLR's are roughly equal. I'm a Canon junkie, so I favor them. There are some Nikon junkies here, as well as Minolta and Pentax. Any of them will help you learn more about photography, if you let them. Any of them will act like an expensive point and shoot camera if you let them. The choice is yours.

That said, if there is a camera shop close enough by to visit, go in, pick up all the SLR's in your price range, and see which one fits your hand the best. Are the controls easy to get to and see when you are gripping the camera? Go to popphoto.com and read their reviews of the different models you looked at, and see what others have to say about each one.

In the end, each brand has it's strong points, each has it's weaknesses.

You might also want to think about a manual SLR. You can pick up a pretty nice used Canon, Pentax, Nikon, Minolta, from eBay for less than you'll pay for an entry-level new auto-everything model.

The learning curve is a bit steeper on manual camera's because you have to figure out focusing, changing aperture, etc. But it is a very rewarding experience the first time you pick up a batch of pics from the minilab, and your shots look great.

Hope something in this ramble helped! :wink:

I think what I'd do is first of all decide what high end digital you might lean towards in the future. If it's Canon, (Yes, I'm a Canon fan also) look for a good used Canon AF. You can pick up a good used A2 for about $300 or so, and then if you go digital slr in the future, any lenses you have aquired for the film camera will work on the digital.

film i suggest eos33 or f75