Advice on lighting equip

Riastradh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Haigh folks, I'm needing a portable lighting kit that I can use mostly outdoors.
I'm a student so I have a tight budget. I have came across the Inerfit EX150 MKII kit for £199, that's a very attractive price for me.

Interfit EX150 MKII

Ok, now I ask for advice. Its colour temp is 5600 K +/- 300k and uses 100 watt bulbs. 100 watts, will that suffice for outdoor...is that too weak, why would I need more watts/brightness? For what maybe illuminating a greater portion of my composition?

Hopefully 100 watts will be ample enough, I just wouldnt want a kit that can't light my subject(s) well from certain distances.

Many thanks for the help!

Welcome to the forum.

I think you are a little confused about the specs. That is a flash/strobe type light and those are rated in Watt seconds. In this case, it's 150 Ws. (they also give a Guide Number (GN) of 32m (96'), which is a measure of the actual light output.
There is also a modeling lamp built into the light and that is a 100 Watt lightbulb. The modeling lamp really isn't for shooting with, it's just a visual aid so that you can sort of see what your light is doing.

So if I restate your question, it should be; 'Is 150 Ws or a GN of 32m, enough to shoot outdoors?'

Well, it depends. If you want to overpower the sunlight, it's probably not going to be enough, unless you shoot with it very close to your subjects. If it's just fill light, it might be OK, but it's still not super powerful.

As an example, the Canon 430EX flash has a GN of 43m, the 580EX has a GN of 58m. So either of those would be significantly more powerful, and they run on AA batteries. (this light would need to be plugged in to AC power of have some type of battery pack)
HERE is a link to the Vivitar 285HV flash. It has a GN of 120', so it is also putting out more light that the 'studio' light you linked to.