Advice on Nikon d7000

MelViv

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am very keen to purchase a new Nikon d7000. I am a keen but amateur photographer. I am looking for some advice about which lens/s to purchase with the d7000.
The kind of photography I take is, as I mentioned recreational, includes mainly family photos, animals, landscapes.
If I was to purchase 1 lens which would you recommend … and if my budget were to allow for 2 which 2 would you recommend. Also, as I am starting out in this which accessories would you recommend that I purchase with the d7000.

Many many thanks for any help and advice you can offer.

I think if you are just starting out, the kit lens would be great. 18mm-105. It has a wide range of focal point to learn on. The only down side, it's not a very fast lens.

A big advantage to owning a good DSLR camera is the interchangability of lenses.

Your uses: family, animals, landscapes, require different focal lengths.

Landscapes require a wide angle lens, less than 35 mm apparent focal length. (The D7000 has an APS-C size sensor, amd a 1.5x crop factor. A 35 mm lens would have an apparent focal length of 35 mm x 1.5 = 52.5 mm. I like to make landscape shots using a 12 mm lens (18mm apparent. An 18 mm lens has a apparetn focal length of 27mm).

Family shots would require from 50mm focal length (apparent) and up (to at least 200 mm).

Shooting animals depends if they are domesticated, in a zoo, or in the wild.

To cover the entire range, except animals in the wild, I would recommend 3 Nikon lenses:
  1. AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
  2. AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF This lens also has an extreme close-up capability, known as Macro, from 35 to 85 mm. It is only 1:2 though.
  3. AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
For animals in the wild: AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II