Advice on organizing and storing photos with Adobe software

rwmazik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a fledgling photographer with an iMac, Snow Leopard and a lot of photos. Until recently, I have not been doing much editing aside from using the basic simple exposure, lighting, and cropping you get with iPhoto '09. However, currently I am pursuing a possible career in photography by interning with a well versed pro photographer. I just purchased LR2 and CS4, (hooray for the student discount), and wanted to steer away from iPhoto. The one thing I particularly like about iPhoto is the way it automates and splits events into nicely organized files in a very user friendly interface.

Is there a way I can eliminate iPhoto from my repertoire while utilizing other software that can do the things I like with it? I am thinking that I will have to organize and create folders myself. I still have a lot to learn with LR2 and CS4, but would love to hear what others are doing regarding organizing and storing photos.

Thanks,
Ron

Adobe designed Lightroom primarily as a powerful image database manager. Your solution is right there at your fingertips.

As mentioned Lightroom has what you need to tag and organize. You may try a Google search for "lightroom tips".

For others finding this post, I also suggest ACDSee Pro as an alternative (cheaper option). It's a little different in that you organize like you would organize folders in a file explorer, but you can also assign tags and create albums.

Both programs are fantastic in my opinion. There are pros and cons to each. I chose ACDSee a long time ago before LR even existed and just kept with it. Was thinking about switching but their latest version (Pro 3) has some pretty powerful editing. NOTE: ACDSee for Mac has not been released yet but is in development.