Advice on photographing guitars for my business

stream41

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, new member here. I have a few questions, if y'all don't mind :)

I buy and sell guitars for a living, and I'm getting a bit frustrated with the quality of the photography of my guitars. I think having more professional-looking pics of the guitars would help out a lot. Here's an example of what I'm producing now:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230071985825

In particular, notice the reflections on the back of the guitar - that's where I always have the most problems because of the glossy coat of laquer they put on the guitars. I almost threw my camera on the ground that day because I literally could not find an area of my yard where I could escape reflections. Anyway, here's where I want to be:

http://www.buffalobrosguitars.com/images22000-22999/ngb22041-goodallcgc/index.html

I'm sure that's not true "professional" photography, but it's 100 times better than what I'm doing right now. Basically, my question is how do I get to that? I e-mailed the guy who does their photography, and he said he's using a Canon digital camera (he didn't say if it was a SLR or point-and-shoot), two softboxes, a couple of strobes, and a Minolta light meter. From talking to a buddy of mine who's into photography, I already know I'll need two softboxes. But, beyond that I get kinda lost. Right now I have a Canon SD410 point-and-shoot digital camera. What else do I need to take the kind of pics I want? I'm prepared to budget about $500 for any equipment I need.

Thanks in advance, guys.

-Jesse

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Welcome to the forum.

The difference between the two...is that you are using ambient light and he is using studio lighting. He is setting up a small (or maybe a large) studio and controlling the light.