Advice on photographing schoolkids - as a teacher

Desdemona

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a teacher, and a keen photographer. We're encouraged to take photos of interesting stuff we do in school as evidence for inspectors and the like.
I'm fed up of having lots of dull pictures of kids sitting at desks, either looking awkward or smiling cheesily. When I'm trying to take photos and keep an eye on the other kids at the same time, my creative eye seems to desert me, and I find it hard to come up with ideas to vary my shots.
Any advice?

One thing I do find useful is to take shots when the kids are up and about doing something more active, and to use a long lens to capture natural interactions. It's a bit hit and miss, but I have got some lovely shots that way.

I would bet you to wait until there is a fight then photograph it then interigate the two fighters using the pictures as evidence just for a laugh :p

in seriousness though...
I would just try get candid images, I dont think there is much to photograph in school, The only thing i can suggest ism ake your class more fun and creative thus giving something interesting for the kids to do, E.g. if you teach maths, what my maths teacher used to do was on fridays (our last math class for the week) he would play count down like give us a random number we need to make then give us numbers (it never always worked but it was fun trying)
or if you have a good sence of humor, just tell jokes.
What subject do you teach, What school (primary / grade school or High school / Senior chool?)

I teach English in a secondary school - 12-18.
I've not got the most photogenic of subjects. A typical English class involves kids sitting at desks with books out - they might be doing something very creative and interesting (obviously in my class they always are!), but it's not very dynamic for images, and you can't tell what the kids are doing by the picture - unlike, say, sports or art.