advice - proof marking pictures

emogirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.imageevent.com
How many of you use an impression stamp or have your name across the front of wedding proofs? Or is the "norm" now to include full res files with wedding proofs or give no proofs at all?
I have been giving a "proof" album for 13 years of weddings...last year i started using an impression stamp on the images (used to be just a mark on the back of photo) to prevent (or at least cut back) on scanning etc. Although most people arent thrilled about it, no one has ever complained, understood etc. & i give them the option of buy the negs/files in which case there is no impression on their prints.

Today i got an irate call from a customer who's wife picked up their PROOF book last night....he was just livid that their wedding album was "useless". This is someone who I have done all the children in the family (6 kids) and he was the last one....they got an exceptional deal on their images....(which he loves, btw)....he feels like I swindled them...that he never would have booked me if he had known they were proofs. (i do advertise it as a PROOF album)

What to do....this is a family that I have done tonnes of work for and got lots of business from - in fact his sister just booked family pix a few minutes ago and already ordered some of the wedding pix.

I feel so much like i let them down, on the other hand, they got an INCREDIBLY good deal.
I am just re-evaluating pricing/structure for the fall season ....do i just give them the album with no markings and HOPE I will still get orders. It used to be that I would get $600- 800 in sales after a wedding....now, with computers and scanners in every corner stoare, i'm luck to get $200. So, i upped my base price...thank good nesss...but maybe I should still re-evalute what i give them.

thoughts?

oooo... though one, Kim.