Advice Wanted (black and white)

JustAMom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
well, the selective color was an accident, but I decided to keep it. What I am really seeking advice for is how to improve my black and white photographs. My son always ends up looking so washed out when I try to enhance black and whites. (i used channel mixer to make it black and white, and adjusted the curves... im new to this so please advise me on any better techniques!)

How exactly are you using the channel mixer? Are you choosing monochrome and adjusting the source channels from there or do you look at your channels pallette to decide which channel you like best by itself and cancelling out the others?

i did monochrome 100% red

Here's how I make my photo's B&W. Open the the photo you want to turn into B&W in Photoshop. Go to Image and select Mode and then Lab Color. Then go to channels on the bottom right and select the lightness channel. Then go back to the Image and Mode and select Gray scale. It will ask you if you want to get rid of all the other channels select yes. Then hit Ctrl + J and it will copy the background in a new layer. Then go to layer and click the box that says normal and select Multiply and then adjust Opacity until it looks like you want it to. Hope this helps. Please don't take offense to me spelling everything out to you since I don't know your skill level with the program.

Hope you don't mind me giving it a try. Here is what it would have come out like following the steps above.

BWtest.jpg

Hope you don't mind me giving it a try. Here is what it would have come out like following the steps above.

BWtest.jpg

Using who's steps? Yours or mine? If you just copied this image from this screen you're not getting the results you would've from the original color pic being that this is about converting from color to bw and not bw to bw.