AE1 Power Winder?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by wil, Jul 25, 2005.

  1. wil

    wil TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a power winder for my AE1. When I installed the unit a Red light comes on. Then when I press the Shutter release I hear a fant motor sound but it dose not advance the film. The winder did not come with instructions. Any Ideas?
     
  2. fadingaway1986

    fadingaway1986 I Burn Easily :(

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I don't know anything about them, sorry.

    Maybe try a google search?
     
  3. Dweller

    Dweller Inconspicuous Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I believe the red light usually indicates that the film needs to be rewound. Try taking it off and making sure everything is engaging properly. The sound of the winder is much louder than "faint" on the one I have.

    Which model do you have?

    The model I have is the Power winder A2, but I found this on the PowerWinder A and it describes the same behavior from the LED

    http://www.canonfd.com/powerwindera/powerwindera.pdf

    And here is a manual for the A2

    http://www.canonfd.com/a2wind.htm
     
  4. Mitica100

    Mitica100 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9,746
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    A silly question: how old are the batteries?
     
  5. ThatCameraThingy

    ThatCameraThingy TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bloemfontein, South Africa
    those things do not make faint sounds - they are fairley loud !!

    i agree , check the battries.

    could you test it before you bought it ?? was it working then.

    Hanno
     
  6. wil

    wil TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its a power winder A. The battries are fresh rechargables ( Digital NI-MH 2000 mah) I got it on E-Bay so trying it first was not an option. The guy i bought it from said it worked fine, but not for me so far.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ae1 power winder
,
can move power winder on cannon ae1
,

canon ae 1 power winder

,

canon ae-1 power winder

,
canon ae-1 power winder stuck
,
canon power winder a2
,
history about cannon ae-1 power winder
,
how to install canon ae 1 winder
,
how to test your canon power winder a2
,
what is red light on canon ae1 winder