Affordable lens recommendations?

Vilatus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everybody.

I'm a beginner photographer, just doing it as a hobby. I just want a few recommendations for lenses. I mostly take pictures of my pets, of nature, and in the summer I plan to take some pictures of cars. I use a Nikon D3300. I currently own an 18-55mm lens, and a 50-200mm lens. I don't use autofocus, so manual is ok.

I'm sort of interested in a macro lens, but I don't know where to start. I'm a student and don't have a ton of cash, so anywhere $300 and under is ok, it doesn't need to be an official Nikon lens either.

I've attached pictures of my lenses, as well as some of the stuff I've taken so that you can see what I'm talking about.

Thanks!!
20180118_153137.jpg
20180118_153158.jpg
DSC_0163.JPG
DSC_0285.JPG
DSC_0356.JPG
DSC_0102.JPG

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

I would say learn with what you have first. If you want a look into Macro then get some extension tubes like linked below. Inexpensive and will give you an opportunity to explore Macro style shooting.

Extension tubes

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I would say learn with what you have first. If you want a look into Macro then get some extension tubes like linked below. Inexpensive and will give you an opportunity to explore Macro style shooting.

Extension tubes

Extension tubes are good but I find one of the Raynox auxiliary lenses (DCR 150 or DCR250) much quicker & easier to use & they still give great results (unlike the many cheaper diopters).
The Raynox lenses just clip onto the front of your existing lenses, like all diopters they give higher magnifications when used on longer focal length lenses (The DCR150 will be just reach 1:1 on your 200mm, the DCR250 should reach a little over 1.6x). Maximum focusing distance with them fitted depends on the strength of the auxiliary (about 200mm with the DCR150 & 125mm with the DCR250)