age old battle...canon vs nikon

Ridgeback Guy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all, I am new to photography and need help picking my first real camera. I think I have narrowed it down to the Nikon d5000, and the Canon EOS Rebel T1i. I still have many questions though. First off either of these will be a huge upgrade from what I currently have to work with, but I would like to know what you all think of these two cameras? Does either have any notable advantages or disadvantages over the other?

Also I can get either one for just a bit over 500 with two kit lenses (18-55 & 55-200mm). Is this a good deal, or should I buy the body, and get a better piece of glass off ebay or the like?

If I do buy just the body, does it come with warranty, user manual, cleaning kit and all that jass that the camera and lens comes with?

lastly, are there any other cameras that are in/around the same price range that you would recommend?

Thanks in advance everyone!!!

Hi all, I am new to photography and need help picking my first real camera. I think I have narrowed it down to the Nikon d5000, and the Canon EOS Rebel T1i. I still have many questions though. First off either of these will be a huge upgrade from what I currently have to work with, but I would like to know what you all think of these two cameras? Does either have any notable advantages or disadvantages over the other?

Also I can get either one for just a bit over 500 with two kit lenses (18-55 & 55-200mm). Is this a good deal, or should I buy the body, and get a better piece of glass off ebay or the like?

If I do buy just the body, does it come with warranty, user manual, cleaning kit and all that jass that the camera and lens comes with?

lastly, are there any other cameras that are in/around the same price range that you would recommend?

Thanks in advance everyone!!!
Actually, it's not a battle and in reality it's Canon OR Nikon.