age old battle...canon vs nikon

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by Ridgeback Guy, Jun 6, 2009.

1. Ridgeback Guy

Ridgeback Guy New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi all, I am new to photography and need help picking my first real camera. I think I have narrowed it down to the Nikon d5000, and the Canon EOS Rebel T1i. I still have many questions though. First off either of these will be a huge upgrade from what I currently have to work with, but I would like to know what you all think of these two cameras? Does either have any notable advantages or disadvantages over the other?

Also I can get either one for just a bit over 500 with two kit lenses (18-55 & 55-200mm). Is this a good deal, or should I buy the body, and get a better piece of glass off ebay or the like?

If I do buy just the body, does it come with warranty, user manual, cleaning kit and all that jass that the camera and lens comes with?

lastly, are there any other cameras that are in/around the same price range that you would recommend?

Thanks in advance everyone!!!
  2. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,066 / 1
    Actually, it's not a battle and in reality it's Canon OR Nikon.

A Nikon D500 with the 2 lens kit lens retails for almost $1000 and is a newly released camera. If you can get one for $500 with 2 kit lenses something is out of whack. You know the old sayoing, "If it sounds to good to be true...."

The T1i with just 1 kit lens is $900 and again is a recently released new camera.. So again it sounds to good to be true.

Both are nice entry level cameras though both are at the high end of entry level.

Unless you know specifically how you will be using a camera either will be more than able to keep you learning for many months to come.
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2009
  3. musicaleCA

musicaleCA New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No KmH. It's obviously a battle, and it's obvious who's better. Canon. Duh. :lmao: