Am I on the right step here ?? (Total Beginner shots ....)

Nutcracker33

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
first time poster here in TPF
wavey.gif

just started shooting for just a week, so i am a total beginner with this, and i am still learning the camera ...

all these are shot with Canon Digital Rebel XTi w/kit lens, in manual setting

2598372689_4b5547080c_b.jpg

2599191780_70f0350470_b.jpg

2597087740_8c0e252fff_b.jpg

most recent ones
2609808246_fb21563404_b.jpg

2614009532_fef342a2d7_b.jpg

2613191323_ef695a1933_b.jpg

more here
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tomothen00bphotos/

C and C, very welcome

they look better than my 1st shots lol..i like it

When you ask whether or not you're on the right path, my answer (unfortunately) is another question: what are you hoping to accomplish with your shots? Not knowing that, it's kind of tough to give an answer ;)

When you ask whether or not you're on the right path, my answer (unfortunately) is another question: what are you hoping to accomplish with your shots? Not knowing that, it's kind of tough to give an answer ;)

well...

I did accomplish what i want the specific shots to look like ..... but i know i can make them better, much better

but in general, i didnt really know how to answer that ....

None of us can answer the question "Am I on the right track?", however we can give you technical advice and suggestion which may improve them. So, to that end:
1. As an impartial observer, this picture isn't very interesting; okay, there's a sign carved in the rock, but it needs something to situate it. Perhaps a wider view, or different perspective including some of the path to the right? Technically it's okay with the exceptions of the nearly blown sky and over-exposed sidewalk. I'd suggest a levels tweak, and perhaps a saturation boos to get a little more colour in the grass and bricks.