Amazingly distubing dirt in my pictures

carlos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Everybody:

I'm new at this thig, so please be kind.

Ever since i bought my first DSLR i've been haunted by dirt in my pictures, this is because of the fact that i change lenses very often during my journeys. My sensor is clouded by tiny dots and dashes that appear in my prize wnning pictures without exception.

Now i've been reading a lot of magazines and internet articles, none of them concur in a solution to my problem, so i gathered enough courage and i bought the sensor brush from www.visibledust.com. Some of the articles i've read state that cleaning the sensor with dry methods is a mortal sin.

A friend of mine that also owns a Nikon D2X told me th he sensor has some sort of protective layer, can anyone confirm that?

My questions to you are the following:

1.- Given the fact that i don't own 3 or 4 bodies to have atached to all my different lenses, i will keep on changing lenses on the field, that is a fact of life i will have to live with. What method of sensor cleaning do you recomend? (sending my D2X body for profesional cleaning everey other week is not an option)

2.- Does anyone here know of a method to avoid dust and particles inside the body whilst exchanging lenses? (i have a trip to Egypt comming up very soon and i'm expecting sandstorms, so obviously i need some manner of safely and cleanly changing lenses)

Thanks to all of you
Carlos Carvajal

the dirt could also be in the lens. does the dirt always appear in the same place regardless of what lens you have on?

Welcome to the forum.
First thing to keep in mind is PM. (Preventative Maintenance.) You will never fully avoid dirt on the sensor, but always keep in mind that the old saying " An ounce of prevention is worth a Pound of cure" rings true here.