An Amateur's Quest

tooomahs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have loved photography because I gain a sense of fulfillment—beyond the aesthetic satisfaction derived from a picture; it leaves a story I can tell, something representative of the human condition, something I can bequeath my audience and myself forever.

I’ve been an amateur photographer all my life and I was wondering if the photography community could help me out here. I’ve been taking pictures with my noobie Canon Powershot SD 750. I have never done postprocessing/photshopping any of my photographs either.

I decided that I want to move up a step—moving into DSLR/high-end camera territory. I have absolutely no idea on what cameras to buy, what filters to get and most importantly, what lens to buy. I have no idea on choosing what is the best exposure time and all that jargon for taking quality photos (although I know it may depend on the photograph itself).

Here is the quality of some photos I want to take in the future (these are not mine, but I want to take pics like these)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v398/toomahs/Lens Flair/070608224559_by_EntrezSansFrapper.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v398/toomahs/Lens Flair/BMW_335___FIRE_IT_UP_by_dejz0r.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v398/toomahs/Lens Flair/551fff28f840ffe0.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v398/toomahs/Lens Flair/Tunnle_of_thoughts_by_kobyharati.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v398/toomahs/Lens Flair/Three_Maserati__s_by_TVRfan.jpg

If someone can take some time, if anyone, may you please advise me on me transcendence?

IHere are some photos I hope to take in the future though

Hiya toomahs, welcome to ThePhotoForum.