Animals - 8 for C&C please!!

JohnS.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

I just got a DSLR earlier this week. My friends and his family were all hangin out outside the other day so I took these. D40 with 55-200 non-VR, I believe I was on portrait mode for all of them, and ISO 800 for the orange cat, ISO 200 for the dog and black cat. I know I need to work on composition. First, I'm working on getting good shots. Let me know how I'm doing. They're all unedited. I do not know how to use Photoshop, although I do have it.

DSC_0002.jpg

DSC_0004.jpg

DSC_0007.jpg

DSC_0013.jpg

DSC_0040.jpg

DSC_0041.jpg

DSC_0044.jpg

DSC_0061.jpg

I'm a newbie in photography but this is what I think

With some tweak in photoshop and cropping, #2 & #3 are potentially good.

With animals portraiture, focus on the eyes and take a good shot especially when you are using a 55-200mm lens.

These pictures are not doing much for me... sorry.
Of the first cat, the fourth one is the only one I like. I find the pose in the first one strange and the background in the others very distracting.
The dog's eyes are scaring the heck out of me...
The last pic would have been good if it weren't for the busy background, especially the leg!

You are talking about composition, which in my first post, I said I am not currently focusing on. I'm just trying to see if I can get the use of the camera down first with correct shutter speed, aperture, exposure, etc. Just trying to see if I can get clear pictures, pictures with good focus, etc.

I appreciate the feedback though guys. Thank you!

You are talking about composition, which in my first post, I said I am not currently focusing on. I'm just trying to see if I can get the use of the camera down first with correct shutter speed, aperture, exposure, etc. Just trying to see if I can get clear pictures, pictures with good focus, etc.

I appreciate the feedback though guys. Thank you!