(Another) Beginner Here :)

Trevor Weaver

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, My name is Trevor, I used to do photography with point and shoot cameras in the 90's and I've always enjoyed doing it, but for some reason I stopped. Just a few months ago a friend of mine let me play around with his nikon fm2, and then I realized that I almost forgot about how fun it was to do photography. He showed me how to develop film, and scan negatives and everything. It was great!

Now I want to get started again. I have adequate knowledge of cameras, I know I Want a manual, film, SLR camera .I'll be primarily shooting on B&W film (I can't develop color on my own at this point) and scanning the negatives on my computer. I've been searching craigslist, and I found 2 deals to get started on, but I don't know which one I should go with:

$50 (USD)
Honeywell Pentax Spotmatic F with 55mm f.8 lens
Asahi Pentax SP 1000 with 55mm 2.0 lens
Soligor 200mm f3.5 Telephoto lens
Pentax SMCT 35mm f3.5 Wide-angle lens
2X converter
Sekonic L-248 Light Meter
Some Accessories
or this

$60(USD)
-Pentax K1000 body
-50mm 1:2 Asahi lens
-28mm 1:2.8 Albinar wide-angle lens
-1:4/200 Asahi telephoto lens
-Toshiba Flash
-three Promaster screw-on macro lens (+1,+2, and +4)
-three rolls of Kodak ISO 800 color film
-Pentax Mount Adapter K

My friend told me that basically any camera from pentax, nikon, canon, minolta, konica, ect. would be fine to learn the basics. He said that eventually I'll want something better. I'm going to stick with nikon (so I can mooch off of my friend's lenses) but I'm not exactly sure about a model, I'm working on some cash for the eventual upgrade, my budget will be around $300. and I plan to be shooting motion shots (like animals running, sports ect.), landscapes, and very close up pictures (so basically a bit of everything). I don't know what to look for when I buy this camera though.