Another HDR

AgentDrex

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Another try at HDR. This time I feel its closer than the others I've posted, and this one isn't over-saturated. I'll keep practicing. How's it coming along compared to the others I've done?

5214_117603324820_508854820_2356560_8100744_n.jpg

why not try and take a nice picture that is enhanced by HDR instead of just taking a random snap?

So, I admit....I had to Google HDR to find out what it is (total newbie). I totally want to try it now myself. Can anyone give me tips on how to achieve this??
Thanks!

Yeah some tips.

1. Used a tripod or a EXTREMELY stable surface (i.e. tree, rock, etc..)

2. Check out a program called "Photomatix Pro 3"

3. Don't make your picture look too fake. (Huge problem lots of people have.)

Thanks xunknownsoul! I've seen photos like this on Flickr and always wondered how it was achieved. I'll definitely check out the free trial and see what I can do!

in my opinion, HDR works much better with smaller apertures. The whole point of HDR is getting more things evenly lit... why would you want to mess that up with shallow depth of field. Just my two cents... try it and see what you think.

Nope, not feeling it. Doesn't look HDR to my eye.

Yeah some tips.
3. Don't make your picture look too fake. (Huge problem lots of people have.)

Not saying either of you are wrong... but I did want to point out what makes HDR difficult. If it looks fake, people don't like it. If it looks realistic, people don't like it.

But to me, the OP did a good job capturing all of the colors in the shots, without the shadows being too dark and the bright areas aren't too bright. I think its a poor choice of subject, but a good use of HDR.

Drex - try shooting something like a building, car or anything else that has a lot of shadows, as well as a lot of highlights. You'll really start to see the full potential of HDR then.