Another Moonshot Question

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by flashbackpat, Jan 11, 2009.

1. flashbackpat

flashbackpat TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    As an amatuer photographer I was curious about what I could do with my Nikon D40x. I only have the kit lens which is 18-55mm. I've tried to photograph the moon before with this camera and all I could get was either total darkness or a white ghost like blob.

Thanks to Astrostu's tutorial I (thank you for such a clearly written, understandable manual) This is the outcome. Cropped version of course.

[​IMG]

My question is, is this about the best I could expect out of this particular lens or have I still got a lot to learn?

2. nickisonfire

nickisonfire TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    in order to get a better shot you'll probably need to

A) Move the moon closer to you

or the more reasonable:

B) Get a longer lens (55-200mm 75-300mm etc. )

3. Mgw189

Mgw189 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Size wise yes not going to get any better than that short of 100% crop. Image wise not at all. The image posted is way under exposed.

4. astrostu

astrostu I shoot for the stars

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yay! A third "testimonial." Definitely better than darkness or a white blob.

I'm glad that the guide helped, but I agree that it's under-exposed. The peaks of the histogram for JUST the moon part is around 25% grey (for the bright parts) and 4% for the dark parts. You should try increasing your exposure length by about 2-4x and see how it looks.

It also appears to have some significant color noise which I don't think is intrinsic to the sensor. Did you either have it on a very high ISO (shouldn't have if you were following the guide), a low file resolution from the camera (should be shooting in RAW or the highest-quality JPG), or you shrunk the file size with low-quality JPG compression when posting?