Another newbie here, question about building pictures

zadim

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everybody, I am new here and discovered photography recently. I´m reading tutorials and this forum (really useful) and the more I know the more I enjoy it. As now I stroll around the city with my camera, I have many photographs of buildings, but most of them look weird, inclined to the centre... I don´t know how explain it well, maybe this is a silly question (sorry) but I enjoy also architecture and want to learn to take nice
pictures.
Any idea what am I doing wrong?
Thanks

Welcome to the forum.

You aren't doing anything wrong...what you are seeing is known as 'converging verticals'. (Google it for more info).

There are ways to fix or correct for this. Firstly, you can move farther away from the buildings. By doing this, you are equalizing two distances...the distance from the bottom of the building to the camera...and the distance from the top of the building to the camera. This isn't always an option though.

Next, if your images are digital, you can use a program like Photoshop to correct this. Use a tool like 'transform' to change the perspective of the image and make the lines vertical.

The last option, would be to use a tilt/shift lens (if your camera has interchangeable lenses). A tilt shift lens is similar to the movements that you would see on an old fashion 'view type camera'. It allows you to change the tilt of the lens, to make it parallel to the building. These are pretty common for architectural photographers...but they are not cheap.