Any desktop PC geeks here?

JimMcClain

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
1footinthegrave.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Are there enough desktop PC geeks here to discuss new computer builds? Is this the right forum section to do it in?

I've decided that my aging machine needs to be retired. I have plenty of experience building computers, but mostly for show (I used to be a modder and was featured last in CPU Magazine's Oct. 2003 issue). My lungs won't let me do all that grinding, cutting and painting anymore, but I think I can handle assembly.

My biggest problem is not following the technology for the last several years. My last build was intended to last the rest of my life, so when it was done, I quit reading about PC gear and participating in the modding forums. But them damn doctors cain't get nuthin' right and I'm still here. Now I want to put together a machine that will handle these huge file sizes digital photography produces and managing them with high end programs like Lightroom and Photoshop.

Another big problem is money. My income is very limited, so I have to figure it will take many months to get all the right gear for this new machine. Buying a D5300 and a couple lenses, a tripod, etc. took most of my disposable income last month. Been trying to sell stuff I don't use and can live without on ebay. I don't mind it taking a little time though, as long as it's, you know, like the next week or so. Dreaming, of course.

So, last week I ordered a Corsair Obsidian Series 350D Performance Micro ATX Computer Case. It will fit nicely under my desk and still let me put my headphones on top when I'm not using them (I live in a thin-walled apartment and like my music and movies loud). My current machine is a mATX and it's plenty big enough for my needs. This case is a little taller, but not as deep and has plenty of room inside for the gear I think I will use and still have good air flow.