Any tips for photographing the big day as a second shooter?

Paparoksguitar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
OK so my boss recently told me she wants me to be her second shooter at weddings with her now, and tomorrow is my first one. I really really want to impress her.

So wedding photographers, is there anything you really look for in your second shooter? Are there any MUSTS for them that i should know? Any tips for when to get that great shot? (i've never actually been to a wedding before so should be interesting.)

I've read a few of the other wedding topics on tpf, but i wanted one that was more focused on second shooting.

thanks a lot.

"i've never actually been to a wedding before so should be interesting." Yes it should. Never? Really? How old are you?

You don't have to answer that. I'm just having fun.

Now, for the serious answer. Don't try to impress anyone! Be yourself.

As a wedding photographer I only worked alone but I cannot imagine that if I'd had a new second shooter I would have expected anything usable from them. Don't take it badly, it is just business.

As the contractor, not knowing exactly what it is you can deliver, I would not rely on you delivering some shots I need. So I would make sure I get those and if you get some good stuff, great. But if you don't, no big deal. And that is all I mean.

You are in a position to not worry about getting "the" shots. So, don't. Be yourself and get the best shots you can. Because of that freedom you could actually get some very interesting stuff that your "boss" will not get because she is too darn busy getting "the" shots.

Later on, as you get more comfortable shooting weddings, she will get to the point of trusting you more when she asks you to go get a shot she needs. But right now, don't worry about it.

And if your boss expects any more than that and you don't deliver, I would say that is her problem.