Anyone Ever Tried Making an HDR Panorama?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by astrostu, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. astrostu

    astrostu Guest

    Background - I think I've got HDR down, and I've definitely got panoramas down. I use PhotoShop CS3 for the HDRs and I use AutoPano Pro to create panoramas.

    I shoot RAW and open all the photographs with the same settings for the panorama. I then export them as 16-bit TIF files from PhotoShop's Camera Raw algorithm, making sure that they are ALL set to the same temperature, tint, contrast, etc. so that they match up as well as possible in the panorama software.

    Problem - However, for any of you that do panoramas, especially ones that are 160+° across, you probably know that a single exposure setting can be a nightmare, especially if there's sky, because of the variation in illumination across the scene. I try to set my exposure so that the meter is never completely on one side or the other across the scene, but the camera often indicates there's as much as a 4-stop difference that I should be taking into account.

    Solution? - Apple just released new computers yesterday and I've ordered me a nice 8-core 2.8 GHz machine that I'll be loading with 6 GB RAM and 1.32 TB of hard drive space and a nice 30" monitor, so I will finally have hardware that will allow me to do what I propose:

    Is it feasible to do an HDR panorama? Besides a boat-load more time and processing power, there are some practical issues that I see due to two different possible workflows:

    First, you could do an HDR shot for EACH image section of the panorama. This means as you take the panorama, for each "location" within the field of view, you take your 2, 3, 4, etc. exposures with the different shutter speeds before moving onto the next frame of the panorama. Then during processing, you create the HDR of each frame and save it before importing it into the panorama software. The problem with this is ensuring the the HDR is processed the SAME way for EACH frame. Which I think would be very difficult.

    Second, you could do your panorama and either go through the entire field with one setting, change it, and go through the field again, or take the shots as I said for the first method ... it doesn't matter here, though doing it the way as in the first method would probably be more consistent. You then stitch the panorama normally, creating N panoramas were N is equal to the number of shutter speeds for the HDR. Then, you merge those N panoramas into an HDR image. The problem here is ensuring that the panorama projection is the SAME for EACH panorama, otherwise there will be projection offsets that aren't uniform across the field.

    Question - So ... has anyone attempted to do this? Can it be done? Can you think of a better way than either of my proposals, or think of solutions to the problems stated, or think of other potential problems I haven't thought of?
     
  2. Sw1tchFX

    Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,500
    Likes Received:
    478
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You have multiple exposure groups, make those groups into panoramas, bring the panos into your HDR software, combine them, do whatever else needs to be done with them, finished. It's not as difficult as it sounds.
     
  3. astrostu

    astrostu Guest

    My concern is that the panorama software will spherically project the panorama to correct for various things, and the center of that projection may change. I admit, I haven't tried this under the panorama software I use now, but in the past this has been an issue for me when trying to align similar panoramas.
     
  4. Jermz_01

    Jermz_01 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arctic North (Michigan)
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  5. Sideburns

    Sideburns TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you used AEB for all your shots, and didn't move the camera at all (like using a timer)...then all of the shots should be distorted the same (if they need to be), and you should be able to just stitch them all together ,and then merge the 3 panos to HDR.
     
  6. astrostu

    astrostu Guest

    I'm hoping that's the case. The only problem with that is while some panoramas are planned and I can take my time and have a tripod to set up and all that, it's not always the case.

    I guess I'll have to experiment unless some other folks can offer advice on the case of a hand-held.
     
  7. Ls3D

    Ls3D TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Encinitas Cali
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Easier said than done. That is a sweet sample on WIKI, oh and congratulations on your new Mac! (put 8 gigs in it, 1 per core) please report back as your mission unfolds.

    -Shea :D
     
  8. shorty6049

    shorty6049 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    i've done an hdr panorama, it didnt turn out great though because you'd need to make sure that all the frames look the same as far as brightness
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  9. astrostu

    astrostu Guest

    Thanks, I'm sure I'll post my first "successful" attempt with some details. As to the computer ... yeah, I'm psyched! :drool: Too bad the graphics card (nVidia GeForce 8800 GT) puts an additional 3-5 weeks on delivery from the 1-2 days with the stock card. Sigh. As for the RAM, the extra 4 GB is $200 (2x2GB). Adding another 2 GB (2x1GB) is $130, the price of another 500 GB hard drive. I'm currently operating on 1.5 GB of RAM and so this will be a huge increase. I need to see what I actually use on the new computer before I add more, and by then the price will go down. When all is said and done, this set-up will have cost me $5.25k, so I'd rather put RAM on my birthday wish list than jack up the price on this purchase even more past my intended budget (I'm $530 over).


    I'm not sure to what aspect you're referring -- are you talking about doing it via my method 1 or 2? If 1, I understand, and hence my main concern with that method. If 2, then I don't understand unless you were not using a manual exposure and keeping it the same per panoramic image across the entire field (as in one panorama at f/5.0 1/125-sec, another at f/5.0 1/80-sec, and another at f/5.0 1/150-sec). If you kept the exposure the same, you shouldn't have a problem in terms of brightness.
     
  10. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/inexistentia/370271696/

    Shaun loves his HDR panos. Somewhere in his flickr stream he meantioned which software he was using. I'll ask him when he's next online and if this thread is still going i'll let you know. But it takes care of everything. All you need to do is manually bracket your exposures as you're going through and the software stitches straight to HDR. Tonemapping needs to be done after as far as I remember.
     
  11. Sideburns

    Sideburns TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    That's why you HDR last.
     
  12. shorty6049

    shorty6049 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    well then i'd have to make 3 identical panoramas, and thats difficult as well
     

Share This Page