Anyone here have a (higher level) degree in Photography?

elizpage

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.elizabethpagewalker.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This isn't meant to be a biting comment, I am just legitimately curious on who has an education.

I am thinking of enrolling in an Art & Design school to get a MFA in Photography. I want to grow intellectually and artistically. In other words, this isn't just for financial reasons in growing my business. By the way, I got my Bachelor's recently in Mass Media Arts, which is related to Video Production and Telecommunications.

Personally, even as a new photographer, I feel skeptical about hiring a photographer who is "self-taught" because it could really mean anything (unless their work is exemplary) It shows a lot of dedication and perserverence to actually pursue a degree in your craft.

I paid $400 for 11 shots and a 1.5 hour session with a photographer with 8 years of experience and a degree. I paid this amount because I respected her way of doing business and work. She had a smart way of presenting her portfolio as well.

I wouldn't pay myself $400 for that amount of work, due to my experience level and lack of education.

I also refused to pay $300 for a larger body of photos from an extremely rude photographer, who refused to budge on her $300 sitting fee for what was absolutely awful work. She also had a hideous watermark consisting of a heart and her name that covered up almost 10% of all of her images. She went so far as to say that I was "superficial" for giving her some pointers on her watermark after she submitted the quote in to me. Isn't photography somewhat of a "superficial" craft? It's all about the way something presents itself and looks, including the watermark.

Getting back to my point..

How would an education benefit me? What do you guys think?