Anyone shot a candle-lit wedding?

skiboarder72

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.joshjonesphoto.com
I've been shooting weddings for a few years but I have never shot a candle lit wedding before. Just wondering if anyone else has and if they have any tips for me... I'm pretty sure they don't want flash during the ceremony

i havent, but, i would also assume they dont want a flash... it's gonna be tricky to get good shots through the whole thing, but a wide aperture will help

hmmmm...here's an idea..why not arrive early with the bride, groom and priest/minister or what have you..and take shots BEFORE the ceremony were to start and once the ceremony starts no need to take pictures since you already took some before it started :)...I'm sure you can also have some guests there beforehand to make it look more authentic.

I would ask the priest to light the church with the candles same as for the ceramony just long enough to take light readings so you can plan things out.

Make a lil map type drawing of church then write the readings down at there location.

You may be surprised to find out ISO 1600 at 1/25 still wont cut it in some areas. Then try to talk them into more candles.

Because its for a client , I would go out and buy a bunch of candles and practice it . I have never try candle lit shots but read about it recently in " Master Lighting Guide for portrait photography " Its very tuff to get just right. They used a combination of cto gell over strobe and candle plus photoshop to get what there client wanted.

As said before try a staged deal beforehand at the wedding rehearsal.

Cheers Dan

this sounds like a tough one - if you can't use flash and lighting is candles only make sure you get some practice in. Also as you get getting paid for this and the couple will expect a certain quality of photo talk to them - see if you can do some staged shoots with candle light and some other lighting support.