Anything special I should look for in a laptop?

galaxy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My computer died so I will be purchasing a new laptop. With my new interest in photography I am wanting to make sure I get something that will work well for transferring, storing, editing, etc. I am a beginner and do not have aspirations of going pro so I just need enough for personal use. What features (if any) do I need to make sure I get? I am a computer moron:blushing:.

Laptops are notoriously poor platforms for editing images.

Because of the monitor, you have top be very careful it isn't open to far or not enough and that you are not looking at it from one side or the other.

Laptop monitors are also difficult to calibrate reliably.

A better editing solution is to connect a standalone, calibratable IPS monitor to the laptop for editing.

You'll want to get something with a Dual Core or Quad Core processor for any serious photo editing. And at least 2 gigabytes of RAM (4+ is better). I suggest sticking with at least 150 gigabyte hard drive (again, more is better... 250+ for photo editing).

IDE hard drives are ok... But SATA or SATA 2 are faster.

Most any of the systems out there today (new) will have large hard drives and generally fast bus speeds (transfer rates).

And don't forget to make regular backups of your photos to cd/DVD or tape. Its VERY important. :)

I second the advice on using a better external monitor for image editing over the laptop monitor. Cheap LCD screens are just no good for image editing since a tiny change in viewing angle gives you some big changes in contrast and colors.

I would also say that as well as a good fast computer you want to have at least 500GB of harddisk space availble - images will eat that up fast - especailly if you start/are shooting in RAW (and many people do shoot in RAW for the advantages it gives).