Are Arts & Crafts Festivals good for Business?

Capturemecute

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi guys,
My community is having an Arts and Crafts Festival, and I am thinking about setting up a booth. It is a 10x10 space and the cost is only $75. They are expecting around 5000 people. What do I need to set up? What should I display? Any ideas? Also, have any of you tried this approach? Did you get any business from it? Did you offer a special? Any advice or comments are welcome!! Thanks in advance!!!
Amy

I don't see that it could hurt, if you already have an established business and want the chance to set up a nice display and hand out tons of cards or brochures. What type of photography do you do - portraits, weddings, special events?

I love the arts festivals I attend every year, but I am a hobbyist and it's not make or break for me. I do wander around and see studio owners there, with very professional looking displays, sometimes running a promotion or giving away the sitting fee, etc., to whoever calls after visiting their booth.

I also see independent photographers who sell a variety of work - landscapes & such. These displays have several framed pieces on display, and most of their stuff is matted & bagged and in a bin for a reduced price. They also have business cards to give out or to promote their web site.

So, whatever category you might fall in, think about the investment of time and setup as you make your decision. Good luck with it! :)

Fill the booth. I wouldn't take anything smaller than 8X10, and preferrably at least several of your best photographs in a larger size. At least mat the photographs, and perhaps frame some of them (or all of them).

Is this going to be outside? Consider that the wind blows and the rain falls--and there's always going to be dust--and it'll be hot, or cold.