Are DSLR's a dying breed?

PhotoFrenzie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay, i'm the kind of person who cares about being future proof. I don't like buying things and then have them be obsolete in a few years, or in this case invest in a certain system.

So, here's my dilemma. I wouldn't say that I am a complete beginner with photography. I have taken classes at my school but it was with film. I want to invest in a digital system but don't know which one. Nikon d3200 paired with a 35 1.8 and then expand from there or a macro 4/3's system? (Don't know which one yet)

Here's my worries about investing in a dslr system. I have read and seen many people talking about how macro 4/3's is the future of photography and that dslr's will be a thing of the past in the next 5 -10 years. I don't know what to think, but I do know that every product has a product cycle and this could very well be the direction were headed. The thing about the macro 4/3's is they seem a little to small for me, I want something with bulk and that feels good in my hands. My dad owns a dslr and I like the way it feels. I just don't want to buy into a dying system.

This is more of an opinion question, just want to know what you guys think about the path dslr's and macro 4/3's cameras are going.

No. DSLR's aren't going anywhere. Maybe for the hobby shooter who wants a small camera that they can put in their pocket as well as change lenses the 4/3 is a solution, but the DSLR market is still growing every day and it's not going anywhere in the foreseeable future. Pro's are not going to switch to 4/3, the sensor size is a problem for us.

In photography, nothing ever seems to die.