Are these worth buying?

Marissa.k1995

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Me and my sister are each getting a new camera for Christmas. I’m interested in the Canon Digital Rebel XSi, and she likes the NikonD5000. Does anyone on this forum have experience with either of these cameras, and if you have are they worth buying? Also are there any cameras you would recommend that are 700$ and lower. Preferably lower. ;)

I'm using the Canon 450D (which is the same as the Rebel) and I love it! It's a great starter DSLR! I have no experience with the Nikon. Of course I would recommend the Canon! ;)

Depends how much money you're working with.

nchips1
I can get a 700$ camera and lower

Well when I got my XSi, with another lens it was over $1000. And I don't particularly care for the kit lens, and I'm sure others can vouch for me (I hope) it's not that thrilling. I don't know if you're buying it online or from a store, used or new, or whatever... But I'd go with the XTi. I think. I'm not a genius, but I know another lens is going to bring you over your budget with the XSi.

Tamron lenses fit on Canon bodies and have decent prices. There not the best around but decent enough and when just starting the kit lens is quite nice. (but that's just my humble opinion... ;))

Tamron lenses fit on Canon bodies and have decent prices. There not the best around but decent enough and when just starting the kit lens is quite nice. (but that's just my humble opinion... ;))
I have an XSi and the Tamron I'm looking at right now is about $600. :3

I love Tamron, if you can find one under your budget then I'd say they're good to start out with (better than that pesky kit lens at least).

If you like XSi, of course, go get the XSi. But the issue is your sis like D5000. Both are great cameras and they can produce great images (as long as the person behind the camera can). Did you both try play around with them at the store?