are they realy that bad!!??

photographs,

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How long have you been taking pictures with an active interest in photography?

From the three, I only like the third one, but I must say it's nothing spectacular. If the dragonfly filled more of the frame it would be more interesting. With the flower I like the tilted frame thing, but once again I would've filled the frame more with the flower (and probably tilted the frame even more... but that's just my personal preference). I fail to find any point of interest in the first one, both technically and composition wise - what did you find interesting that made you take that one? Can you explain your motive/point of interest?
I'm a beginner myself, but I find all three shot's quite beginner-ish/snapshot-ish in a sense that there might not have been too much though behind the picture taking process. Correct me if I'm wrong.

By no means are they "that" awful, they do have issues, but none of us are perfect. I'll give you opinion:

1. A good idea, but one which would have been better taken aiming directly at the ironwork, rather than parallel to it. Technically, it appears about 1/2 - 2/3 stop over-exposed.

2. The focus on this one is nice and crisp, which is critical for close-up and macro work, however the composition isn't in my opinion, ideal. For flowers like this, it's generally best to try and take them face on, rather than from the side, that way you capture more of the detail of the bloom. As an aside, when you're doing this sort of work, always be cognizant of your surroundings and background. In this case, yes the subject is sharp, but the DoF used to achieve that has resulted in a background which while soft is still recognizable. A larger DoF and closer position to the subject would have helped to eliminate/reduce this.