ARRRGH HELP! Traveling and my 18-200vr won't focus at length anymore

rgower

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So basically i just popped it out of the bag and everything works fine... up until around 135. It will not focus on long distance subjects. I even tried to focus manually, but it stops just short of focusing. This is the first ever hardware problem i've experienced with photography, and i'm relatively new to the scene. Is this a common problem? Can it be fixed in a few hours at a local camera store? Can i fix it myself? HELLLLP

There is nothing that you can do but send it in. Is it still under warranty?

Are you sure its not a setting on camera or lens? On what camera is it doing this?

nikon d300. I'm pretty certain its the lens. It wont focus on long distance objects.... even if i focus as far away as possible manually, it stops just short. So i have to send it in? I'm traveling though.... So i guess just use it as best I can for the next few months and then send it in? The lens in only 2 months old or so so it should be under warranty.

It won't focus or it is soft? I have that lens and although it is handy (I use this lens the most) it is very soft on the long end.

Does the focus not move at all or does it just shift around aimlessly and end up with a soft focus?

Try pointing it at a bright, detailed object at the long end. Does it still not work?

No. Ok. I don't know the technical terms so imagine it this way. I switch to manual and extend the zoom to 200. Then I set the focus really close, so the blur is as blurry as possible i guess. Then, slowly, I start focusing further away. The imagine gets less and less blurry, but just a bit before it seems like it will focus, the focus ring stops turning. Its left out of focus enough that it will not autofocus on 200.... unless I'm using 200 to zoom in extra close to an already nearby object.

Hope that clarifies the problem.