Art center?

Funky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello, im having a hard time deciding if i need to go to college for photography. its a toss up between photography and taking the 12 year road to becoming a doctor.....so, im leaning towards going to art center in LA and its regarded as the best art school in the world but ii dont know if spending 60k a year for college is needed. i guess what im getting at is is college needed for higher end photography jobs? and any suggestions on colleges would be nice to. i have about 6 months to decide so any input would be greatly appreciated.
:cheers:
Zack

Do you have the dedication to be self-taught? One of the things that a university degree offers is a set structure to learn within, but you do pay for it. Where do you live? In my area, you could learn all you need to know about photography technically by taking classes at the Community Darkroom and the Visual Studies Workshop, and even some art aspects, but you'd have to stay on yourself to put it to good use.

What are you planning on doing with photography?

I'd also search the forum for other threads. This has been brought up quite a few times.

Well ive been into photography since i was 8, so i guess you could say im dedicated. ive been selling since i was 12 so i already have a base down. i live in simi valley about 20 miles from LA so i guess im close to art center.
im planning on traveling the world no matter what fild of photography i get into...life need to be fun right?

the art schools I see usually are total rip-offs. Id say if you have the means of living rent free, just get either 2 years, or 4 years out of the way and then start photographing full tim, that way if you dont end up liking it you have something to fall back on, but if you know 100% thats what you want to do with your life, just take the photo classes you NEED at night, and shoot all day long, never looking back.... muhahahaha