Asked to shoot an anniversary party????

Ptyler22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.harvardpress.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I am an amateur photographer that just shoots for fun and I also shoot for the local newspaper. I did a shoot of my friends new truck just for fun, and his mom saw the shots and was really impressed. She asked me if she could hire me to shoot her parents 50th anniversary party. She said she wants a family portrait, and some shots of the day. I told her that I have never shot anything like this before but I would certainly try and she said she still wants me to shoot it.

So my questions are, what should I look at for inspiration and ideas for types of shots to do, and what do I charge, and what type of equipment should use for it?

Do you really think YOU should be photographing this 50th Anniversary?

Well, thats the thing, do you think I should shot her more sample shots of other types of things I have shot. Because I know it will be a stretch, but I don't think it will be a complete failure

Unless you are at the very least welll versed and practiced in off camera flash photography, have fast lenses and a camera that is clean at higher ISO... it may not be a complete failure, but you are certainly not going to be able to deliver a quality product that a couple that has been together for 50 years really deserves.

These things take places in dark reception halls or restaurants. Natural light or on camera flash is NOT going to cut it, not by a long shot.

Time to put ego aside and seriously ask yourself the question... is what you can deliver with your equipment an experiences REALLY what they deserve, or is a more experienced photographer going to be able to deliver something that you simply cannot.

This is certainly not about you... it is totally about the couple and what they deserve.