Asking a photographer for their RAW files...

splproductions

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm planning my own destination wedding (Kauai), and I'm looking up photographers in the location I'll be going to. Would it be super offensive/weird/inappropriate to ask the photographer if they would be willing to provide me with the RAW image files from the shoot? I'm going to be hiring the best photographer I can find, and I'm sure their work will be awesome, but I'd love to be able to make any artistic/stylistic changes later on down the road if I wanted to. Maybe 10 years later the style of photography that I'm into is different and I want to do my own Lightroom/PS processing.

Any thoughts on this?

I'm no pro but I highly doubt you'll get the raw files.
Some do find it offensive to ask. Others don't want questionable editing techniques being associated with them plus probably about a dozen other reasons I can't come up with.

I used to be a music producer/engineer and I had a client ask me for the files (individual tracks, etc), and I know I wasn't too keen on giving them the files for the same reason (what if they mix the track and it sucks - I don't want my name associated with it) - so I can see the point there.

Expect to pay extra for them. A LOT extra for them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

it would be inappropriate and if they'd even consider it would be astronomically cost prohibitive.

Now that said you might politely explain you are an aspiring photographer and inquire, but don't be surprised by a flat and or jovial no.

I'm a professional wedding photographer. I have no problem if the clients want the RAW files as long as they pay accordingly for them. :) So, when you ask, do let them know you're wiling to pay extra for the RAW files. Keep in mind that getting the RAW files and owning the copyright are two different things.

Just make it a condition of getting the job.