Assistance With Settings For Shooting Milky Way

tomohawk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have a Sony A100 with a DT 18-70mm f3.5 - f5.6 lens.

I want to photograph the Milky Way from Portugal and need detailed help with the settings and exposure time, as I am a beginner.

Thanks,
T

I would start with these.

Tripod/remote trigger or timer
18mm
F3.5
25-30 seconds
ISO 1600-max use able

Should get you started. A dark sky map helps as well.

No one can give you detailed settings as every image is different per location, moon status, light pollution levels and your exact camera/lens combo.

Thanks Jake.

I have a tripod and also a remote trigger.

Should I set the switch on the side from Auto Focus to Manual Focus and should I leave Super Steady Shot in the ON position?

Tommy

Turn off the steady shot feature, it should be off when using a tripod.

As far as focus, you want to focus to infinity (or on an object very very far away) and then switch it to manual focus so that it stays focused at that distance.

Thanks Destin

Thanks KmH

Hi!

Steady shot shall be switched off, for sure, autofocus either !

The main issue will be the focusing. Bringing the lens to the infinity mark is not accurate enough. You would better focus on an intense star zooming to the max on your screen. Once the focus is OK, don't touch the lens anymore.

Usually, lenses are better when closed by 1/2 to a full stop.

For the exposure duration, look at the page of Aaron D. Priest who explains the "NPF rule" :

NPF Rule for Sharp Stars

That will allow you to shoot the Milky Way without stars trailing. This rule supersedes the 600 or 500 rule.

LENR is quite efficient to remove the thermal signal from long exposures.