At The Pier

Th0r4z1n3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I was up at the lake the other day, and came up to the pier just in time to grab this shot. It was really overcast, an the b&w looked really "white" so I added the vignetting to offset the abundance of white. Grain just because I like the grainyness of old b&w film. :)

Feedback?

DSC_2697-1-2.jpg

Yes, you do like graininess. I like the isolation of the subject.

Yes, you do like graininess.
Too much? Just looking for some honest input about the image.

I like the isolation of the subject.
That's what grabbed me about the scene. I could only get a couple shots off before more people started making their way onto the pier.

Well, I'm no expert but personally don't like a lot of grain. A little goes a long way. :)

Well, I'm no expert but personally don't like a lot of grain. A little goes a long way. :)
I appreciate the input, I'm looking for some honest feedback not just to get my ego stroked (otherwise I would just post on Instagram lol). I'm not a fan grain just for grain's sake, but something about this just seemed "vintage" to me. I'm not an "artist" by any means, but I generally try to make the image look the way I feel it (I don't even know if that makes sense lol). I've only ever used that level of grain in one other photo, and it looked kind of harsh on the screen, but a lot of it got toned down when I sent it out to print. I think I'm going to add this to my next batch of prints, just so I can see how much of that grain gets toned down in print.