Auto shoot every x seconds (interval meter?) on a 5D Mark III

Discussion in 'Canon' started by nauliv, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. nauliv
    Offline

    nauliv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Hello All !

    I've been reading the documentation back and forth and can't seem to find a way to have the 5D Mark III take photos by itself every "x" seconds (i believe it's called "interval meter") but can't seem to find it. This feature is present on a lot of much less expensive cameras; is it possible it just doesn't exist on the 5DmIII ?

    Thanks for your help !
  2. Rick50
    Offline

    Rick50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Not on a 5dIII I don't think. I have a remote switch I bought from B&H that has that capability although I've never used it for that. It's a Vello Wireless Shutterboss if your interested. I use it for wireless plus exposures longer than 30 seconds. On a 5dIII you only get HS or Low speed multiple exposures while holding down the shutter.
  3. 412 Burgh
    Offline

    412 Burgh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +191 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I don't know... My nikon D7000 has the capabilities, I know it's a newer camera but I think the Mark III would have it.. however, I'm a nikon guy myself. Hopefully it does!
  4. Light Guru
    Offline

    Light Guru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    508
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +523 / 3
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
  5. nauliv
    Offline

    nauliv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Thanks for your response Rick ! :wink:
    What a bummer, it looks like this function is indeed not available from within the camera!
    Looks like this is the product I will need to get: Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote RCW-C2 B&H Photo Video or http://www.adorama.com/HHGTPTCA.html


    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
  6. Dao
    Offline

    Dao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    350
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +350 / 0
    • Like Like x 1
  7. CanonJim
    Offline

    CanonJim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western south Jersey, USA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I have the Vello device - it's pretty slick - all kinds of shutter timings, delays, etc. It has a small piece that fits in the hot shoe and plugs into the camera, and wireless remote that you use to set it up and trigger it. I've used it to take up to 99 shots with a timed delay between each one, delay for a period of time and then take the shots, and so on.
  8. dixiek55
    Offline

    dixiek55 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Magic lantern firmware has this I think. There is a version for the 5d mark 3 available. I downloaded this to my camera a while ago and it pretty slick.
  9. gw2424
    Offline

    gw2424 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Florida
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit

    I am surprised they already released the 5d3 version! I use Magic Lantern on my T3i and it is absolutely great! I fully recommend it.
  10. TCampbell
    Offline

    TCampbell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    979
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +997 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Canon's official way to do this is the Canon TC-80N3 "timer Remote Controller" that Dao linked above.

    There are 3rd parties who make similar devices and they cost generally cost less (Canon's part isn't cheap.)

    I didn't realize Magic Lantern had a build for the 5D III either... but I've used ML on other bodies and that would be another way.
  11. nauliv
    Offline

    nauliv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Hello Folks,
    Wao, I didn't know about the Magic Lantern firmware, this is really interesting! So glad I joined this forum !
    I'll go for the Vello wireless, and will let you know !!
    Thanks again for your advices!
  12. Edsport
    Offline

    Edsport Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
  13. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,552
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,749 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Another way, not mentioned yet, is to connect the camera to a computer for tethered shooting. I'm not sure if the EOS utility software has an intervolometer but I'm sure there is software that will do it. Maybe not as convenient as having it built into a remote, but it's another option.
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
5dm3 timer control shooting
,

5d mark iii interval timer

,
5d mark iii internal intervalometer
,

5d mark ii interval timer

,
canon 5d automatically shoot many pictures in interval
,
canon 5d mark ii shoot automatically
,
canon 5d mark iii photos in intervals of
,
does my canon 5d mark 3 have intervalometer
,
does the 5d mark iii have a built-in interverlometer?
,
how to make cann 5d shoot longer than 30 seconds
,

how to set timer on canon 5d mark iii

,

how to shoot interval shots with canon 5d iii

,
interval recording 5d markiii
,

interval shooting canon 5d

,

interval shooting canon 5d mark iii

,

interval timer canon 5d mark ii

,

interval timer canon 5d mark iii

,
self timer on the markiii
,

set auto shoot on canon 5d mark ii

,
timer on a 5d iii