Aviation photography - which camera?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Sardine, Nov 19, 2009.

1. Sardine

Sardine TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    My main focus is aviation photography. I've been using a Fujifilm S8000 for about 2 years now, and I think it's time to bite the bullet and upgrade. Now my question to you is; what's an ideal upgrade? I take photos of static aircraft, as well as some air-to-air, air-to-ground, and ground-to-air. With the ground-to-air photos, I'm normally about 20m-80m away from the aircraft (100m+ when at airshows).

My budget isn't huge, so I can't afford those very juicy lenses all the professional aviation photographers have. I just want something that will get the job done nicely. My knowledge isn't that great either, so I'd like something relatively basic (I am willing to learn though!).

A friend said I must look at a secondhand Canon 450D with a 18-55mm lens. He then advised me to get a Sigma 300mm once the bank balance is in the green. Yay, nay?

I've also been looking at the:
    Canon EOS 1000D
    Nikon D60
    Nikon D3000

Had a look at the Sony A 230 and A 330, but I'm leaning more towards Nikon and Canon.

Please note that I live in South Africa.
    Budget is about R6000, R7000 at a push. So, approx $800 or 500 Euro.

Thanks in advance.

2. wescobts

wescobts TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Having never shot from the air to ground, but was going to until I heard the price of air time, ouch ! The pilot told me if I had a nice zoom, it would be good, I have a 70-200 which I was going to use. Maybe someone will chime in who knows a little better. I'm a Nikon guy, so I will tell you to go with a Nikon, but other brands are good also.

3. altitude604

altitude604 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I started with a Fujifilm S5200 and this Summer I upgraded to my Canon 450D.

Does great for aviation, if you pick up the 55-250mm zoom that works good as well.