B&W Tulip

Tolyk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I had tagged this onto a gallery post, but I decided I wanted more indepth critique on it.

Tv: 1/1000; Av: 9.0; ISO: 200; Focal: 50mm

tulip4.jpg

tulip4.jpg

I would like to know is if the composition is correct, and if not how I could do it better? Should I have included the entire flower? I know I cut part of the top petal off, was that a mistake? And just anything else anyone thinks I could improve upon. Thanks :)

i think the photo needs

1. all of the flower
2. longer depth of field or more in focus
3. more contrast. the whitest whites are kinda grey and the blackest blacks arent really deep black. also parts of the flower petal are blown out.

also im asuming this is digital,
i think the converstion to B&W should be done differently. it looks like it was just desaturated. Im no PS expert as i shoot film only, but from what i have heard desaturating is not the best way to convert to B&W

I agree the top petal needs to come in.
As far as depth of field goes, its fine. I actually kind of like the way attention is drawn to the main part of the image due to the placement of focus.
Im not sure about b/w in this one. Dont get me wrong, I love black and white in general, but especially macro photography of flowers strives on vibrant colors that just get lost in B/W.

As for the technical conversion to b/w:
Desaturation is also not the way to go. What you should do is make an adjustment layer - Gradient map - black/white. Best results IMO.

I had tagged this onto a gallery post, but I decided I wanted more indepth critique on it.

Tv: 1/1000; Av: 9.0; ISO: 200; Focal: 50mm

tulip4.jpg

I would like to know is if the composition is correct, and if not how I could do it better? Should I have included the entire flower? I know I cut part of the top petal off, was that a mistake? And just anything else anyone thinks I could improve upon. Thanks :)